Population approx. 40,000 - rich history
- beginning more than 1250 years ago (monastery, abbey)
- today capital of the administrative district of Central
Franconia - formerly reigned by Hohenzollern Princes
(Markgrafen von Brandenburg-Ansbach) for 450 years -
baroque palace (18th century) with 26 state rooms, marvelous
interior, rich art collection (It's a must!) - Orangery
in the historical 18th century park (Hofgarten) / originally
orange plants were stored in the orangery in winter,
today: center for festivals such as the Rokoko-Festivals
|Rothenburg ob der
Dating back to the 9th century, the picturesque,
historic town is a popular place among tourists from
all over the world. The fortified city center features
the half-timbered houses and narrow alleys that are
characteristic for Franconia's historic places. Many
historic buildings are open to the public.
First mentioned in the second half of the 11th century
- around 1350 property of the Teutonic Order - 2 medieval
gates - old parts of the medieval town almost completely
fortified (excellent location for snap shots and videos)
- Bailiff's House, St. Mary's Minster, one of the most
remarkable churches in Central Franconia - the poet
(Minnesaenger) Wolfram von Eschenbach (author of the
epic poem "Parzival") is buried in the minster.
Medieval little town - fortified wall (from about
1450) still existing - old city hall from 15th century
- at the end of the Medieval Ages Merkendorf became
a property of the rich Cistercian Abbey of Heilsbronn.
One of the oldest Cistercian Abbeys in Germany (founded
in 1132) - the minster is referred to as "the sleeping
compartment of the Franconian nobility", as hundreds
of ancient noblemen and 34 Cistercian Abbots are buried
in the church - excellent restoration of the interior
of the minster - works of medieval masons, painters
and other artists from Nuremberg.
Framework houses can be seen all over the center of
the town - selected information concerning historical
events and arts can be obtained at the entrance to the
First mentioned in the 13th century - located on
a hill - today: Museum, Franconian History through the
13th century property of the Hohenzollern nobility
- Burggraf Conrad donated the castle to the Teutonic
Order - After the Reformation (16th century) it remained
a Catholic enclave in the protestant region. Picturesque
Completely surrounded by water, medieval origin buildings
preserved in Renaissance style - picturesque sight -
private property - no access to interior.
Two castles (red and blue castle) property of the
Earls of Seckendorf - first mentioned around 1250 -
First mentioned in 1246 - fortress in the Rezat Valley
- destroyed in 1552 - rebuilt in Renaissance style -
massive fortification - Area open to the public - inside:
important documents of the State Archives of Nuremberg
(good possibility for a walk in an old fortification).
Fortification, first mentioned in 1150 (!) - today:
mighty Renaissance-fortress (about 1450) - severely
damaged in 1945 during World War II.
Ruins of a 12th-century castle, destroyed after the
Thirty Years War by fire in 1651 - Access at your own
First mentioned around 1300 - never taken by enemy
forces during the Middle Ages - medieval surroundings
- modern golf course.
||First mentioned around the year 1000 - destroyed several
times (in 1318, 1529, 1632) - Restored as a palace in
the 18th century - 70 rooms - 365 windows - Wildlife-Station
(eagles, falcons, owls) - museum open to the public -
no access to private rooms - property of the Hohenlohe-Family.